Mr Mário Centeno President of the Eurogroup 175 rue de la Loi 1048 Brussels Belgium

**Subject:** Appointment of the next Vice-President of the European Central Bank

Brussels, 2 February 2018

Dear President and Members of the Eurogroup,

Next March 22 the European Council will appoint the next Vice-President of the European Central Bank as the term of office of Vítor Constâncio will end on 31 May 2018.

Until now there has never been a woman president or vice-president of the European Central Bank nor in the other European Financial Institutions (European Investment Bank and European Investment Fund). Out of the 25 members of ECB Governing Council there are only 2 women, which accounts for a mere 8%. In 2017, among the 60 posts available for members of the highest decision making bodies of the 3 EU financial institutions only 10% were women (6 women / 54 men). This could be aggravated in the coming months, as the term of office of Ms Nouy will end on 31 December 2018 and Ms Lautenschläger will lose her current function in the SSM in February 2019.

This reality does not respond to a shortage of qualified female candidates but to the unequal distribution of power between women and men still existing in our societies and that is acerbated even more in the economic and financial sector. There is an urgent need to end the current women's invisibility in the decisions making processes influencing the overall EU economic development, monetary stability, employment and growth, all factors which touch the lives of women and men in different ways.

The European Parliament will be asked to endorse the proposed candidate in a hearing on the 27 February and in a vote in Plenary on the 13th March. We as members of the European Parliament would like to request the Eurogroup to show commitment with gender equality and ensure Mr Vítor Constâncio's replacement will be a woman. For this only a shortlist of candidates with an equal number of female and male candidates is necessary. Therefore, we call on all member states to propose qualified women as candidates for the top post and refrain from nominating men.

Thanking you in advance for your good attention to this urgent matter, we look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

Sven Giegold, Eva Joly, Ska Keller, Philippe Lamberts, Michel Reimon, Terry Reintke, Molly Scott Cato and Ernest Urtasun

Members of the European Parliament