

Brussels, 9th November 2017

Dear President Tusk,

We learnt that a member of the Russian LGBT community had been tortured to death. According to LGBT media NewNowNext¹, pop star Zelimkhan Bakayev vanished on 8th August, when he went home to Chechnya from his new home in Moscow for his sister's wedding. A source close to activists in the region told he arrived in Grozny and was picked up by police within three hours. And within ten hours he was murdered. For being gay. Like hundreds of gays who have been mistreated, tortured and detained over the last months by Chechnya's authorities, as victims report it now.

During May's plenary session, the European Parliament voted a joint motion for a resolution on the implementation of the Council's LGBTI Guidelines², particularly in relation to the persecution of (perceived) homosexual men in Chechnya, Russia.

In this resolution, the European Parliament called the EU to offer material and advisory support to the Russian authorities in the investigation regarding the events in Chechnya. We also asked to assist those who have fled Chechnya and to facilitate asylum request procedures for such victims in accordance with European and national law.

Five months later, and considering that this problem is far from being solved, we are eager to know what the Council has been doing to protect these lives, what are the results of your investigations, how many LGBT refugees have found asylum in Member States.

With our kindest regards, thank you in advance for your consideration and cooperation.

Eva Joly Greens/EFA Pascal Durand Greens/EFA Ernest Urtasun Greens/EFA

Jan-Philippe Albrecht Greens/EFA Petras Austrevicius ALDE Beatriz Becerra Basterrechea ALDE Malinr Björk GUE-NGL Jean-Marc Cavada ALDE

¹ <u>http://www.newnownext.com/zelimkhan-bakaev-chechnya-murdered-gay-purge/10/2017/</u>

² <u>https://eeas.europa.eu/sites/eeas/files/137584.pdf</u>

Anna Maria Corazza Bildt PPE Rosa d'Amato EFDD Seb Dance S&D Dennis de Jong GUE Karima Delli Greens/EFA Jan-Paul Denanot S&D Stefan Eck GUE-NGL Tania Gonzalez Penas GUE-NGL Nathalie Griesbeck ALDE Yannick Jadot Greens/EFA Benedek Jávor Greens/EFA Josu Juaristi Abaunz GUE-NGL Ditmar Köster S&D Philippe Lamberts Greens/EFA Barbara Lochbihler Greens/EFA Florent Marcellesi Greens/EFA Louis Michel ALDE Clare Moody S&D Dimitrios Papadimoulis GUE-NGL Pina Picierno S&D Zoraya Post S&D Terry Reintke Greens/EFA Christine Revault d'Allonnes-Bonnefoy S&D Robert Rochefort ALDE Bronis Ropé Greens/EFA Elly Schlein S&D Molly Scott Cato Greens/EFA Jordi Solé Greens/EFA Bart Staes Greens/EFA Marc Tarabella S&D Helga Trüpel Greens/EFA Marita Ulvskog S&D Anneleen Van Bossuyt ECR Monica Vana Greens/EFA Hilde Vautmans ALDE Daniele Viotti S&D